top of page
NAQFF_Poster_11x17_EN (1).png

The North African Queer Film Festival features stories by and about sexual and gender minorities in North Africa and its diasporas in an effort to cast a light on the social, political, emotional and cultural aspects of queer identity in the region while challenging historically dominant modes of representation and continuous erasure of LGBTQ+ North Africans.

A celebration of queerness in North Africa both in our collective past and present, this festival offers an unprecedented look into queer cinematic and cultural productions from the region and aims to create a strong sense of community and belonging for North African queer people across the globe.

The films in this program serve as a window into the historical presence of queer people in the region who have always been here despite marginalization, criminalization and erasure by the current systems of oppression in North Africa inherited from colonization, similarly to the rest of Africa and the colonized world.

Dhakira Collective is an independent research, archival

and curatorial platform that foregrounds art, cinema and music outside the

western canon based in Tiohtià:ke/Montréal.

We recognize that we are we are operating from the unceded Indigenous territory of Tiohtià:ke

which forms part of the Kanienʼkehá:ka nation and the Haudenosaunee confederation and wish to express our solidarity with First Nations people across Turtle Island in their struggle against

settler colonialism, imperialism, land theft and genocide.

Contact us
bottom of page

top of page
NAQFF_Poster_11x17_FR (1).png

Le festival nord-africain du film queer met en lumière des histoires par et autour des minorités sexuelles et de genre en Afrique du Nord et dans la diaspora dans le but de visibiliser les aspects sociaux-politiques, culturels et émotionnels des identités queer dans la région tout en remettant en question les récits historiquement dominants et l’effacement continu des Nord-Africain·e·s LGBTQ+.

Une célébration des identités queer en Afrique du Nord dans nos passés et présents collectifs, ce festival offre un regard sans précédent sur les productions cinématographiques et culturelles LGBTQ+ de la région et vise à créer et renforcer un sentiment de communauté et d’appartenance pour les personnes queer nord-africaines partout dans le monde.

Les films présentés dans ce programme servent d’ouverture sur la présence historique de minorités sexuelles dans la région qui ont toujours existé malgré leur marginalisation, leur criminalisation et leur effacement par les systèmes d’oppression actuels en Afrique du Nord hérités de la colonisation, de même qu'ailleurs en Afrique et dans le reste du monde colonisé.

Dhakira Collective est une plateforme indépendante d’archivage,

recherche et curation mettant en avant les arts et cinémas sortant

des canons occidentaux basée à Tiohtià:ke/Montréal.

Nous reconnaissons que nous opérons depuis les terres Autochtones

non-cédées de Tiohtià:ke qui forment une partie de la nation Kanien'kehà:ka et de la confédération Haudenosaunee. Nous tenons à exprimer notre solidarité aux Premières Nations de l'Île de la Tortue dans leur lutte contre le néocolonialisme, l'impérialisme, le génocide et le vol des terres Autochtones. 

Pour nous contacter
bottom of page